jump to navigation

Touch Screen on my S10-3t stops working December 5, 2013

Posted by haryoktav in What's news.
trackback

It is very annoying after I got Windows 8.1 updates on my Lenovo S10-3t, my touch screen panel always stops working. Uninstalling the updates sometime solves the problem. But, wait a minute, so this means I would sacrifice my little Lenovo from malware-attack for the sake of the operation of the touch screen? Difficult to answer, huh? 🙂

After many times trial from the forums on internet…

Accidentally, I tried this one (I forgot the link that I referred, but I just remember that they told about services.msc). And it works for me. I don’t know how to explain. Maybe what I did isn’t right, but it just works!

So, I did this:

1. Press Windows Key + R, that brings you to Run command. Type “services.msc” without quotes. The Service window will appear. I just guessed and I found that two services status related to touch panel (maybe) were stopped.

Service window

2. Find “Human Interface Device Service” and double click on it. Choose Startup type to Automatic, and click Start button if the service status was stopped. Then click Apply and OK buttons.

Human Interface Device Service

Human Interface Device Service

3. Again, find “Touch Keyboard and Handwriting Panel Service” and double click on it. Choose Startup type to Automatic, and click Start button if the service status was stopped. Then click Apply and OK buttons.

Touch Keyboard and Handwriting Panel Service

Touch Keyboard and Handwriting Panel Service

4. Restart.

Wala! I got my touch back!

—-[Edited]

But, however, sometimes I still got my touch service is not working. It always goes back to Manual mode. So, I read this blog http://www.eightforums.com/tutorials/12411-services-start-stop-disable-windows-8-a.html and I search for ‘touch’ in the registry using Regedit. Yup, I found that value of Start was 3, which mean the startup type is Manual. I modified the value of Start become 2, which is Automatic. Then restart the PC….

Regedit

Regedit

Wala! I got my touch service back to Automatic mode!

—-[Edited]

But still, sometimes the registry goes back to Manual mode. I don’t know what happens inside my machine. Adjust the registry and reboot one time again is fine for me, right now. Surely, I am waiting for the ‘scientific’ solution rather than guessing. ^^ Dear Lenovo, do you still have a little support for me? 😉

—-[Edited]

Got Windows 10, and no problem at all.

Comments»

1. Tal Argov - July 20, 2015

Thanks a lot!!!
This solved the same issue on my ASUS v451lb

2. jkjakes - August 3, 2015

Wow! even 2 years later your ‘guess work’ has helped me resolve the problem (after loading Windows 10 Home from Windows 7 HP). Thanks

3. blahblah - November 16, 2015

Didn’t work for me. And Windows still shows “No Pen or Touch Input For This Display”.

Dang…

4. Husam101 - March 26, 2017

My screen touch doesn’t work like it was on sleep mode then i opend it and like a magic the screen doesn’t work and the pen also 🙂


Leave a Reply

