jump to navigation

Sky FM on my WinAmp December 14, 2009

Posted by haryoktav in Taipei.
trackback

Recently, I work in my lab while listening to Sky FM with my browser. Smooth jazz channel  is nice, love music channel is also good. Just go to this link http://www.sky.fm/play/lovemusic.

But playing Sky FM in a browser is not challenging. I was wonder, how about to catch the IP address of the streaming audio and play it in a WinAmp player?

Suddenly my eyes pointed on the status bar of the browser. Got you! 🙂

Sky FM on browser.. (klik to enlarge)

I knew your IP, but I need the port number. What is the port number exactly? Hmm..  this must be the netstat time! ^^. Netstat (network statistics) is a command-line tool that displays network connections (both incoming and outgoing), routing tables, and a number of network interface statistics (Wiki).

On Windows, click START button, choose RUN, type “cmd” (without “-mark), then click OK button. Those steps bring me to black window ^^. Type “netstat” (without “-mark) in the command prompt then press ENTER. From many numbers listed, just concentrate  on the same IP address wrote on the browser’s status bar. Hurray! Now I got the complete number: IP address and port number. Next, how I put everything on my WinAmp?

Netstat result.. (klik to enlarge)

Just came to my mind that WinAmp can play a playlist file in .PLS format. Ok, so I downloaded one of PLS file on the net and edit the content. Actually, PLS file is only a text-file. You can create your own by creating a new text file and save it with .PLS extension. Put this text into that file.

PLS file

Finish, now drag the PLS file and drop it to WinAmp playlist. Don’t forget to double click or press play button on WinAmp ^^

Wow, cool. ^^

You can do these steps to listen to both low quality sound at 24kbps or good quality at 96kbps using the same way. Enjoy!

